What Is The DSM-5?

The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5) is a reference book published in 2013 by the American Psychiatric Association (APA). It encompasses an extensive list of various mental disorders and provides a distinct set of diagnostic criteria for each condition. This classification of mental disorders makes it easier to form diagnoses through established and standardized guidelines.

It is an essential and valuable tool in the mental health field for standardizing the diagnostic process and encouraging a common language for mental health professionals.

What Is The DSM-5 Used For?

Mental health professionals primarily use the DSM-5 to assist them in determining precise and conclusive diagnoses, which is vital for treatment planning, communication among mental health professionals, and reimbursement from insurance companies. The manual promotes a common language that allows mental health professionals to communicate effectively, facilitating collaboration on patient care and developing proper treatment planning.

Additionally, the DSM-5 is used as a reference in mental health research to establish consistent and comparable findings across different research studies. It provides a foundation for studying the prevalence, causes, and treatment of mental disorders.

The DSM-5 also provides a vital foundation for health insurance companies to determine coverage and reimbursement for mental health services. Having a recognized diagnostic system is essential for billing and insurance purposes.

The History Of The DSM

Several editions distinguish the history of the DSM, each depicting a notable turning point in the advancement of mental health classification and diagnosis. Below is an overview of each edition of the DSM.

DSM-I (1952)

The first edition of the DSM was published in 1952 by the American APA. Compared to its later editions, it was a relatively modest manual that included a limited number of mental disorders. Psychoanalytic theories and Freudian beliefs largely influenced the DSM-I.

DSM-II (1968)

The second edition, the DSM-II, was published in 1968. This manual expanded the number of recognized disorders and aimed to be more compatible with the international diagnostic system; however, it still heavily relied on a psychoanalytic framework.

DSM-III (1980)

The introduction of the DSM-III in 1980 marked a noteworthy shift in the mental health field.

This edition shifted gears to a more atheoretical approach, moving away from psychoanalytic and psychodynamic theories. The DSM-III incorporated a multiaxial system, which assessed mental disorders on five different axes, accounting for medical, psychological, and social factors.

DSM-III-R (1987)

The DSM-III-R was a revised version of the third edition, published in 1987, further refining the criteria for utilitarian value and removing the diagnostic hierarchy, leading to an increase in comorbidity findings.

Importantly, this version marked a further shift in how substance use and misuse was viewed. In prior versions, addiction was seen as a byproduct of other underlying mental health conditions. In the DSM-III-R, however, it was identified as a disease that could exist independently from other conditions and caused by a physiologic dependence.

DSM-IV (1994)

The DSM-IV was published in 1994, further refining the diagnostic criteria and expanding the list of recognized disorders. These editions continued to emphasize a descriptive approach and reliability in psychiatric diagnosis.

DSM-IV-TR (Text Revision) (2000)

The DSM-IV-TR, published in 2000, was a minor revision of the fourth edition, focusing on clarifying and updating diagnostic criteria.

DSM-5 (2013)

The fifth edition of the DSM brought forth foundational changes, including the elimination of the multiaxial system and a switch toward greater priority on dimensional assessments, considering the individuals’ functioning and the severity of their symptoms.

This version is also the first to introduce and define behavioral addiction under the category of Substance-Related and Addictive disorders, with gambling addiction being the only one formally recognized thus far.

Other changes in the DSM-5 involved:

  • The elimination of the Global Assessment of Functioning (GAF score).
  • Restructuring the classification of the disorders.
  • Modifying how disorders that result from a general medical condition are mentally visualized.

DSM-5-TR (2022)

The revised version of the DSM-5 came out in 2022 and introduced a new disorder: prolonged grief disorder. Additionally, the text revision of the DSM-5 includes ICD-10-CM codes for suicidal behavior and non-suicidal self-injury.

Support Your Mental Health

If you feel that you are struggling with an undiagnosed mental health disorder that is impacting the quality of your life, help is available.

Online therapy can provide counseling services that work for your schedule from the comfort of your own home. Explore your online therapy options today!